Zoology Programme started in the Department of Biological and Chemical Sciences, created in 1995/1996 academic session. The Department consisted of Botany, Zoology, and Chemistry programmes. In 1997/1998 academic session, the Department of Chemical Sciences was carved out to stand on its own. The remaining Biological Sciences was expanded to include an additional programme, Microbiology. In 2004/2005 session, Microbiology became an autonomous Department, leaving Botany and Zoology to constitute the Department of Biological Sciences. However, on 26th May, 2011, Senate approved the demerging of the two programmes and they became separate Departments where Botany was renamed Plant Science and Biotechnology, while Zoology that constitutes this present Department was renamed Zoology and Environmental Biology.